Aretha Franklin to be awarded a posthumous Pulitzer Prize
Franklin is the first female artist to be given a Special Pulitzer

Photo from Reuters

Eight months after her death, the “Queen of Soul” Aretha Franklin has been selected by the 2019 Pulitzer Prize jury as the recipient of a special posthumous citation in the Arts and Letters category. Pulitzer Prizes are awards given for outstanding achievements in literary works (journalism, literature, composition) in the United States.

After reading out the 2019 Pulitzer Prize winners in the Journalism and the Arts and Letters categories,┬áPulitzer Administrator Dana Canedy rounded up the winners by announcing that Franklin would be receiving a special citation for her “indelible contribution to American music and culture for more than five decades.”

The award marks Franklin as the twelfth musician and the first woman to win a special Pulitzer in the Arts category, the first female artist, and third female special recipient overall. The most recent winners of special Pulitzer citations are singers Hank Williams (2010) and Bob Dylan (2008).

Franklin passed away in August 2018 at the age of 76 due to pancreatic complications. She has won 21 Grammy Awards, including three special awards, and produced classic hits like “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman” and “Respect”.

Story from

Check our other pieces involving Aretha Franklin below:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.